The Alan Cooper Leadership in the Arts Award was established in 2017 to celebrate individuals who create responsive and innovative opportunities for artists, arts organizations, and audiences. Five outstanding leaders in the region have been recognized to date: Joan Myers Brown (2022); Stanford Thompson (2021); Rebecca Medrano (2020); Julia Olin (2019); and Michael L. Royce (2018).

Since the Award’s creation, Mid Atlantic Arts has grown in many ways, and we believe it is important that the Leadership Award reflect that evolution. As Mid Atlantic Arts prepares to welcome a new Executive Director, the Leadership Award has been paused in order to assess the program’s goals and alignment with the organization’s guiding principles and strategic plan, and to explore how Mid Atlantic Arts can best recognize leadership in the region. More information will be available as we move through the leadership transition process.

Display caption

Image: Joan Myers Brown. Credit: Julieanne Harris.

Joan Myers Brown - 2022 Awardee

Opportunity & Support Type
Target Candidate
Artist/practitioner, Performing Arts Presenter, Members of Art Agencies, Federally-recognized Indian tribal government