MAAF expands markets for artists and their work.

About Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation
Three dancers can be seen on stage. two men are on their knees with their heads bowed. A woman is laying curled over both men's back, her head is resting on her arms as if she is sleeping. Behind them, a shadow of a woman is seen looking to the left. Photo by Meiyu Tsung.

Pilobolus Dance Theatre performs Shadowland at GW Lisner Auditorium in Washington, DC. Washington Performing Arts presented the performance with funding from Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation’s ArtsCONNECT program. Photo: Meiyu Tsung.

Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation was established in 1979 to promote and support multi-state arts programming in a region that includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, the US Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia. Over the last 35 years, the Foundation has expanded its reach to include national and international initiatives. The Foundation’s work is focused on performing arts touring, jazz, independent film, support for individual artists, and international cultural exchange.

Mission

Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation develops partnerships and programs that reinforce artists’ capacity to create and present work and advance access to and participation in the arts.

Vision

Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation envisions a vital arts and cultural sector enriched by the movement of a vibrant and diverse environment of artists and arts organizations engaging audiences across geographic, artistic and institutional boundaries regionally, nationally, and internationally.

Values

Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation believes that art is essential, that it has the power to transform individuals and communities, and in so doing helps define our society. Excellence, integrity, service, inclusion, and engagement are fundamental tenets of its commitment to the arts.

Goals

  • Foster expanded access to the arts by connecting artists, communities and resources, and by exploring new forms of creative expression and methods of presentation.
  • Provide leadership in the development and delivery of model programs and partnerships to address access, creation, presentation, and the expansion of markets for artists and their work.
  • Provide resources, knowledge and connections to enable artists and organizations to build audiences and relationships, and to explore new approaches that enhance their operational and creative practice.
  • Represent excellence and best practices in management and governance.

In 2017:

  • MAAF administered 369 grants.
  • MAAF awarded $1,742,209 million in direct grant support.
  • Grants resulted in over 700 performances and 580 separate outreach activities.
  • MAAF programs reached approximately 250,000 individuals
  • More than 1,850 artists participated in Foundation programming.
Staff

Operations

Executive Director
Theresa Colvin
theresa@midatlanticarts.org

Director of Operations
Tom Gaeng
tom@midatlanticarts.org

Grants and Operations Officer
Phillip Harmon
phillip@midatlanticarts.org

Financial Officer
Amy Lamp
amy@midatlanticarts.org

Executive Assistant
Adam Plantz
adamp@midatlanticarts.org

Support Specialist
Hannah Young
hannah@midatlanticarts.org

Programs

Deputy Director, Programs
Ian Tresselt
ian@midatlanticarts.org

Program Officer, International
(Southern Exposure: Performing Arts of Latin America, USArtists International)
Robyn Busch
robyn@midatlanticarts.org

Program Specialist
Chevaun Jackson
chevaun@midatlanticarts.org

Program Officer, Performing Arts
(French-American Jazz Exchange, Jazz Touring Network)
Jess Porter
jess@midatlanticarts.org

Program Officer, Artist Fellowships and Visual Arts
(Creative Fellowships, On Screen/In Person, State Fellowships)
Kimberly Steinle-Super
kimberly@midatlanticarts.org

Program Officer, Performing Arts
(ArtsCONNECT, Mid Atlantic Tours, Special Presenter Initiatives)
Haowen Wang
haowen@midatlanticarts.org

External Affairs

Director of External Affairs
Karen Newell
karen@midatlanticarts.org

Development Associate
Anne Fulwiler
anne@midatlanticarts.org

Employment/Internships

Positions:

There are no openings at this time.

Internships:

Internships at Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation (Baltimore, MD) provide a supervised learning environment to gain insight and experience in the field of nonprofit arts administration for graduate and undergraduate students as well as individuals who have recently completed their program of study.

For more details about the internship positions currently being offered and application instructions, please review the full position listings carefully PRIOR to submitting an application.

Please note: Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation interns are not considered eligible for any program administered by the Foundation for the duration of their internship. 

Applications are currently being accepted for the following positions:

No applications are being accepted at this time. Position listings for the 2018 Summer Arts Administration Internships will be posted on Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation’s website no later than January 2018.

 

Strategic Plan

Highlights the mission, goals, objectives, and vision for the Foundation for 2017-2019.